Cruelty-free makeup essentials

Looking into cruelty-free beauty products was one of the first steps that lead me to veganism. It has been quite a journey getting to the point where I am happy with all the products I own, and my opinions have changed many times over in the past two years. Close friends and family of mine often ask what products I use so I thought it would be useful to create a post with all the details.

Unfortunately, not all the products I use are vegan or eco-friendly, but I have learnt over time that I am not always willing to sacrifice the use of a product or the quality of the product I use for an alternative. Hopefully one day I will be able to find some awesome vegan, eco-friendly packaging brands without the sacrifice of quality. If you know of any – please let me know!

It is possible that not all the products in this post are vegan. Although I do not sacrifice the fact that I product has to be cruelty-free, in some instances I have not been able to find vegan products that are fit for the purpose or are the quality that I would like. Eventually, I would like all the products I use to be vegan and eco-friendly so if you know of any that I may be missing out on, please let me know.

The last thing I want to address as a sort of disclaimer before getting into the products is that I no longer worry about purchasing from companies where their parent companies test on animals. You may be thinking, WHY? The simple answer is that I want to encourage big companies to make the transition to selling more cruelty-free products and if they see the demand in the cruelty-free market it may encourage them to move more of their brands in that direction. Of course I still think supporting small, local companies is the way to go, but I am not opposed to purchasing from those types of brands.

Keeping in mind that I am no makeup expert – lets move on to the products:

Foundation: My favourite cruelty free foundation is the Kat-Von D Lock-It foundation, I purchased mine online from sephora.nz in the shade 54. This foundation is amazing, it lasts so well throughout the day and is full coverage. Another good one is the fabulous & flawless foundation by Chi-Chi (shade 4), it is a lower coverage foundation that is buildable and can be purchased from Farmers.

Setting Powder: I use the RCMA no-color powder, purchased from beautylish.com. This powder has absolutely no colour pigment which means it won’t create a white-cast in flash photography. It is also a super fine powder which means it doesn’t cake up the face but sets my foundation well.

Eyebrows: I am in love with the Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz in Soft Brown, a beauty blogger favourite. I get mine online either from sephora.nz or beautylish.com.

Mascara: The best product I’ve found to date for this category is the Chi-Chi 3D Magic Lash mascara. It is a very lengthening mascara, it’s only downfall is that the formula dried and can get clumpy quite quickly.

Contour and Highlight: I use the Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit, I like that there are 3 contouring and 3 highlighting shades.

Lips: My absolute favourite lip product is my Jefferee Star Liquid Lipstick in the shade Celebrity Skin, it is long lasting and feels great on the lips. I also own Chi-Chi and Lime Crime lip products that I enjoy very much.

That’s everything! The minimalist inside me likes to keep the number of products I own to a minimum (funny that) which means all the products listed above are not only my essentials but all the makeup products that I own. What are your cruelty-free makeup favourites?

Thanks for reading,

Jessica

4 comments on “Cruelty-free makeup essentials

Leave a Reply

