How I make rice paper bacon

Bacon made from rice paper? Yep, an odd concept but don’t knock it until you try it.

I can’t say I’ve ever been a fan of bacon, so when I went vegan a year and half ago it was never a flavour or texture I wanted to replicate. However, curiosity got the best of me when I saw how simple this recipe was to make and I’ve made it more times than I can count.

Rice paper is the perfect base for this recipe as it is flavourless itself and absorbs the flavour of anything you add it to. Rice paper also is easy to make crispy or you can leave some bits chewy its all up to your own personal preference, experiment with the texture and cooking time to make the recipe your own.

The marinade should be the consistency of pancake batter and it will thin as you continue to use it as the residue of the water from the rice paper strips will make it into mix.

Honestly, I typically don’t make this recipe to add it into other recipes (although there are some pretty awesome ways to do it!), instead I like to just snack on the strips as they taste like the Cheese and Bacon Shape crackers to me and they were my favourite crackers as a kid!

Let me know what you think of the recipe below if you give it a go. I have a food Instagram @veganbrunchbox for more food posts.

Ingredients

  • 3 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp hickory liquid smoke
  • 3 tbsp water
  • 5 rice paper sheets (I prefer to buy square sheets)
  • 1- 1 1/2  tbsp any oil (I tend to use canola oil)
  • extra water to dip and soften the rice paper

Directions

  1. To make the marinade combine the nutritional yeast, soy sauce, hickory smoke and water in a bowl and set that to the side
  2. Start pre-heating your non-stick frying pan on medium heat
  3. Prepare the rice paper by getting kitchen scissors and cutting them into equal size strips about 3cm wide.
  4. Set up small bowl with a warm water to dip your rice paper strips
  5. I tend to do the next steps in batches to make it easier, so first add the oil to the pan
  6. Dip the rice paper strip into the water so the strip is slightly softened, repeat this with the marinade to coat the strip
  7. Now its time to cook! Add the strips to the pan, after about 45 seconds flip sides. Cook until crispy or until they are a nice deep brown colour. Repeat this process until all strips are cooked.
  8. Serve anyway you like!

Ingredient Notes

  • Hickory liquid smoke: The most important ingredient in this recipe and probably the hardest to find. I use Angel Food and I would recommend checking out the Angel Food website to see what supermarkets and other stores stock it in your area, they also list websites that you can order from
  • Rice paper sheets: These can be found in any supermarket. My favourite place to purchase them is my local asian market
  • Nutritional yeast: This is very accessible anywhere in Auckland and can be found in most supermarkets in the baking isle (New World is your best bet). If you can’t find it there try your local health food store such as Common Sense Organics or online at the Cruelty Free store

Thanks for reading,

Jessica

Leave a Reply

